What is a failing grade in NUS

The failing grade in NUS is considered when a candidate gets a GPA below 2.00 (but ≥ 1.50) for three consecutive semesters; or. GPA below 1.50 for two consecutive semesters.

GPA for Continuation and Graduation

To graduate, an undergraduate student must have a minimum GPA of 2.00. To remain in good academic standing, and to continue in an undergraduate programme of study, a student may not have:

  • GPA below 2.00 (but ≥ 1.50) for three consecutive semesters; or
  • GPA below 1.50 for two consecutive semesters.

For any semester in which the student’s GPA falls below 2.00 (but ≥ 1.50), that student will be issued an academic warning. If, in the following semester, the student’s GPA again falls below 2.00, s/he will be placed on probation. If the student’s GPA remains below 2.00 for the third consecutive semester, the student will be issued a letter of dismissal by the Registrar and denied re-admission.

For students whose GPA falls below 1.50 for two consecutive semesters, they will be placed on probation for the first semester, followed by dismissal in the second semester.

Degree Classification

The criteria for degree classification applicable to students admitted from AY2012/2013 onwards are as follows:

Honours (Highest Distinction) GPA 4.50 and above (ii)
Honours (Distinction) GPA 4.00 – 4.49
Honours (Merit) GPA 3.50 – 3.99
Honours GPA 3.00 – 3.49
Pass GPA 2.00 – 2.99
Pass with Merit GPA 3.00 and above
Pass GPA 2.00 – 2.99


(i) This refers to 160-unit degree programmes.
(ii) Particular Faculties/Schools may stipulate other requirements.

(iii) This refers to 120-unit degree programmes.